Sep 12

Reigning NLL champion Georgia Swarm’s 2017-18 schedule announced

By: Staff Reports

Published: September 8, 2017

The reigning National Lacrosse League champions announced their 2017-18 regular season schedule Friday.

In their third year in Georgia, the Swarm will begin the season with two road games in December, taking on the New England Black Wolves on Friday, Dec. 8 at 7:30 p.m. and the Colorado Mammoth on Saturday, Dec. 23 at 9:00 p.m.

Georgia’s first home game at Infinite Energy Arena will be on Saturday, Dec. 30 at 7:05 p.m. when the team welcomes the Rochester Knighthawks. The Swarm will have a banner raising ceremony celebrating their first-ever Champion’s Cup title. Swarm players will also receive their championship rings at the home opener.

The 2017 NLL Season saw Georgia emerge as the dominant force in the league, finishing with a league-best regular season record of 13-5 and a postseason sweep of the Toronto Rock in the East Division finals and the two-time defending champion Saskatchewan Rush in the Champion’s Cup finals. The two Champion’s Cup finalists will get their much-anticipated meeting at The Hive on Saturday, Jan. 6 at 7:05 p.m.

Georgia will also clash with its East Division finals opponent, the Toronto Rock, three times this season. They will welcome the Rock to The Hive twice this season, on Saturday, Feb. 17 at 7:05 p.m. and Sunday, April 8 at 4:05 p.m.

“The 2017 season was a memorable experience for the organization and fans alike,” Swarm co-owner and president Andy Arlotta said. “As incredible as bringing a professional world championship to Georgia for the first time in 22 years was, our team was built to compete for championships for years to come, and we’re excited about the opportunity to ‘Defend the Cup’ this year.”

The Swarm’s regular season will consist of 18 games from December to late April. Georgia will play its home games at Infinite Energy Arena.

Georgia was the only team in the league to finish with a winning road record and a victory against every other NLL team. It also set a new NLL single-season team scoring record by finishing the year with 266 goals, surpassing the Rochester Knighthawks’ previous record of 258 set in 2002.

Lyle Thompson became the franchise’s first player to surpass the 100-point threshold while being named the NLL MVP and Champion’s Cup MVP. Assistant captain Jason Noble was named the NLL Defensive Player of the Year, Mike Poulin was named NLL Teammate of the Year for the second year in a row, Jordan Hall was awarded the NLL Sportsmanship Award, head coach Ed Comeau won the Les Bartley Award for the second time in his career, and Swarm owner and general manager John Arlotta was named the NLL GM of the Year.


Date Opponent Time

Friday Dec. 8 at New England 7:30 p.m.

Saturday Dec. 23 at Colorado 9:00 p.m.

Saturday Dec. 30 Rochester 7:05 p.m.

Saturday Jan. 6 Saskatchewan 7:05 p.m.

Saturday Jan. 13 at Calgary 9:00 p.m.

Saturday Jan. 20 Colorado TBA

Saturday Jan. 27 at Vancouver 10:00 p.m.

Saturday Feb. 10 at Buffalo 7:30 p.m.

Sunday Feb. 11 Rochester 6:05 p.m.

Saturday Feb. 17 Toronto 7:05 p.m.

Saturday Mar. 3 at Toronto 7:00 p.m.

Saturday Mar. 10 at Rochester 7:30 p.m.

Sunday Mar. 18 Buffalo 4:05 p.m.

Saturday Mar. 24 New England 7:05 p.m.

Sunday Apr. 8 Toronto 4:05 p.m.

Saturday Apr. 14 at Saskatchewan 9:30 p.m.

Saturday Apr. 28 Vancouver 7:05 p.m.

Sunday Apr. 29 at New England 5:00 p.m.